UFC 210 Recap: Daniel Cormier Remains Champion

Written by Zak Katine

UFC 210 in Buffalo was a night of promising prospects showing out. On the undercard Gregor Gillespie, Desmond Green, Magomed Bibulatov, Shane Burgos all put on great performances winning dominant decisions or finishing their opponents. Kamaru Usman absolutely dominated a tough fighter in Sean Strickland and earned himself a ranked fighter. Myles Jury after a year and half away from the sport looked better than ever submitting De La Torre in the first round.

On the main card Charles Oliveira moving up to 155 looked phenomenal. Took down the the wrestler in Brooks, took his back and submitted him in under 2 minutes. We saw the last fight of Patrick Cotes career after having a war with Thiago Alves and losing a decision he announced his retirement from mma. Cynthia Calvillo kept the train rolling, second ppv in a row where she finished her opponent and remains undefeated.

Now on Gegard Mousasi vs Chris Weidman which was a great fight that ended in controversy. In the second round Mousasi landed two knees on Weidman where one seemed illegal so the ref stepped in and stopped it. After replays it showed that both knees were legal and it was a weird situation because it seemed like no one knew what was going on. The final verdict was that Mousasi won by TKO in second round, but was just a weird ending and very controversial finish.

In the main event we saw a rematch that repeated the same as the first fight. Anthony Johnson tried to grapple with Daniel Cormier and it was a suprising game plan as that’s Cormier’s specialty. Cormier was able to take Johnson down in the second round and finish with a rear naked choke.

The most surprising thing was after the fight Anthony Johnson announced his retirement.

Main Card
Daniel Cormier def Anthony Johnson via rear naked choke hold round 2
Gegard Mousasi def Chris Weidman via tko round 2
Cynthia Calvillo def Pearl Gonzalez via rear naked choke round 3
Thiago Alves def Patrick Cote via unanimous Dec
Charles Oliveira def Will Brooks via rear naked choke round 1

Myles Jury def Mike De La Torre via TKO round 1
Kamaru Usman def Sean Strickland via unanimous dec
Shane Burgos def Charles Rosa via TKO round 3
Patrick Cummins def Jan Blachowicz via majority dec

Fight Pass Prelims
Gregor Gillespie def Andrew Holbrook via KO round 1
Desmond Green def Josh Emmett via split decision
Katlyn Chookagian def Irene Aldana via Split Dec
Magomed Bibulatov def Jenel Lausa via Unanimous Dec

- Advertisement -

%d bloggers like this: