Bellator MMA World Grand Prix 2018 Announced

Winner To Be Crowned Heavyweight Champ

Exiting news out of Bellator. Eight-man heavyweight tournament set to crown vacant heavyweight champ.

Scott Coker, Bellator President, announced through MMAjunkie and USA Today the news of the tournament saying:

“This is going to be something that’s iconic for us. Tournaments, traditionally, are kind of the way martial arts contests happen. Now we get to put eight iconic brand names in our sport together over a year, and then whoever wins will be crowned the heavyweight champion.”

The eight men confirmed are:

Fedor Emelianenko 36-5

Frank Mir 18-11

Matt Mitrione 12-5

Roy Nelson 23-14

Ryan Bader 24-5

Quinton Jackson 37-12

Muhammed Lawal 21-6

Chael Sonnen 29-15-1

You may have noticed that 4 of these fighters are light heavyweights who will be moving up a division for a chance at gold.

The tournament will go throughout 2018 and the championship fight will be held in December 2018. The bouts will be held 1 per event for 7 events then the crowning in December.


%d bloggers like this: